Concept

HAS MAN A FUTURE

Keep earnest

Why we are always afraid of “being earnest”?

On one hand, it costs to be earnest. “Being earnest” always means more energy consumption, longer time requirement, less profit margin in the short term, hence, people are usually less willing to be earnest;
On the other hand, being earnest is a solution to common difficulties, which highlights those earnest people, motivates others who stop trying in the excuse of difficulty.

Why Time Documentary always stick to the word “earnest”?

We spent 15 years waiting and making plans, while our requirements of being earnest stiffened, in conducting ourselves, acting and dealing with our profession, and we have paid for our attitude. However, also with our perseverance, we are rewarded rare opportunities in this industry, which is the best assertion of being earnest.
We are on an untraversed path, like on slopes towards Mount Everest, accompanied by loneliness and hardship, with endurance of sadness and fear from remains of bodies. Without earnestness in preparation and persistence in every step, we will be the next victims.
It is very urgent, as the best time to enrich and enhance ourselves is now coming, and soon there will be competitors gathering here, allowing no mistake while the transient opportunity is fading. Time will forgive our crankiness, because this opportunity may be trivial for an individual but is the one Time Documentary has been waiting for 15 years.
Therefore, TimeDoc can only say “sorry” to our fellows who are accustomed to slow rhythm, to our fellows who are always careless, to our fellows who make mistakes repeatedly, and to our fellows who are lack of autonomous learning and self-discipline; Time Documentary understand that being professional requires learning progressively, but will never compromise with mindless colleagues.
“Thou wilt find rest from vain fancies if thou doest every act in life as though it were thy last.”(from Meditations on First Philosophy), and this is the value theory recognized by Time Record.


What was our purpose of making documentary?

What is documentary?

We respect predecessors whose discussion on the definition of documentary improved our perspective.
TimeDoc stays focused since its establishment—to share the value of leading enterprises by documentaries.
Therefore we can only describe our documentaries in the sentence below:
Filmed in direct and realistic way, making corporate citizenship (who has social responsibility and is environmental friendly) image that will contribute to a positive and healthy economy.
Time Documentary specialized in documentary, and all businesses irrelevant thereto are deducted. Though there are various types of documentaries, we only focused on corporate documentaries.
In the future, we can only predict what we will possess, but cannot change what we will lose. Only artificial person determines the development of society, not natural person. We believe corporate, as the cell of economic society, has the power of changing the world.
Moreover, persons with interest in documentaries always think highly of the common values of goodness and responsibility. We hope that we stand out from this platform, to disperse encouraging thinking, share some life-changing knowledge, disseminate the product, branding and cultural values of pioneering enterprises, and go towards a more humanized and hopeful future society.
People always say the primary function of documentary film is its historical value, because it can always express the relation between the events and the time with larger force than that of feature films.
The words “all my work is against oblivion” said by Wu Xiaobo is also about attention on historical value.
We pay attention to the historical value of documentaries, but pay more to the influence of these films and its enlightenment to the future. If it is said that these films will play a role in the history, it is a result instead of a goal.


We have memory of short time with long-lasting oblivion.

Life often elapses quickly, and the bygone went away without any opportunity of being repeated.
Life is trivial. We may have vast fertile of land, but only three meals a day; may have massive large buildings, but only stay in one bed when sleeping. Kings and the common people all become ashes in the end.
Even dazzling reputation may disappear soon, just as those numerous powerful heroes who in the end can only be forgotten by history. Those high reputation we are now still retelling is also of trifling. We ourselves will also pass away soon, even without understanding ourselves, not to mention the long-ago decedent.
This life rule at least may encourage us to live not so blind.
We will not record one person for our reputation; we stick to fair, objective and complete viewpoint to show and observe the figures appearing in our films.
The history is always good at oblivion, and with the background of “a half bottle of split milk” (meaning learning to forget and give up), the actions taken by people can be classified into two categories, some are pessimistic, world weary, depraved and hesitative therefore, while others are optimistic, brave, time cherishing and positive.
We choose to be the latter.
We try out best to make the film closest to the real situation, to be capable of emitting shine for as long time as possible. Although, from the perspective of history, even the shine for the longest time is destined to be only an instant, but the shine, at least, light the road for current people and the successors.
We believe every film in this industry is just one drop of water in the sea, and as long as the water continuously spring up, it can, sooner or later, wear away the stone.


Market is always the first priority.

Market decides the creation.

Market decides the creation.
We, from the beginning to the end, pay attention to the narration mode of documentary based on the market. We believe and respect the value of artistic creation, but believe more that only if the audience will not leave their seat can the information be delivered to them.
All films (no matter which category they belong to) are merchandises, whose future is determined by audience, and any complaint over this is futile. Thus we need to consistently be aware of it, learn and blend commercial methods into our documentaries.

Therefore, we should follow marketing rules of documentaries:

1. Documentaries, not recording films
2. Interesting figures
3. A complete viewpoint
4. Telling a story, trying to push the story development with the dynamic clue of the event itself.
5. Enrichment of film content, trying to reducing the explanation, interviewing and captions.
6. The public is always interested in entertaining information.
In order to make film interesting to those audiences walking away in face of numerous stiff documentaries, we shall try some methods to make them interesting, simple and painful, just as the features of life itself.


Documentary

Our being able to achieve the direct and continuous tracking mode in making film shall be ascribed to the technical progress, enabled the camera to track life, rather than adjusting life according to the requirement of camera. This all allow us to record the event and the consciousness of film creator just as the reflected event.
We believe that the content, form and professional knowledge in documentaries are being changed revolutionarily.
Since its birth, disputes over the way it reflects the truth have never been stopped. If you acknowledge film editing, being loyal to the fact will become incredible.
Trueness of a documentary shall ultimately exist in the imagination organized thereby, not mechanically being loyal to life. Simultaneously, we shall also pay attention to the classical dialogue made by Eliot in Murder in the Cathedral, “Mankind cannot bear too much reality”.
However, undoubtedly, documentaries are creative nonfictional films, based on artistic creation and commercial needs, the fictional figures and scripts will not be automatically removed from the field of documentary. Actually, we can find out that many documentaries are also replaying the features and reproducing the scenes.
In a world full of contradiction, the documentary makers are in charge of protecting justness.
Good documentaries can always reveal deeper facts with emotions, and the latter moved people deeper than the former. It does not explain facts or eulogize the virtues and achievements only, but goes deep into a more complicated and vague field of life with heavy morality burden.
Simultaneously, a good documentary is a story with good organization, just like the counterpart feature film. To tell a good story requires interesting figures, glorious story clue, narration full of imagination tension and a complete viewpoint. The elements in traditional dramas—figures, explanation, tension, opposition, climax and denouement between the conflicting forces shall be very complete in the documentary.
By raising the consciousness of themselves and others, documentary makers are trying to do some respectful and valuable things, and live with wisdom.
Unfortunately, the market mechanism of documentary field in China is still not enough mature, and the industry, as a whole, remains in the lower level than developed country, with less recognition by market, a lack of cultivated audience and copyright awareness. It is very difficult for the documentary maker to raise funds, make and sell films. And there is no clear profit model in this field so far, and the development of many documentaries can only rely on the persistence of individuality, their paying to produce and sharing among small groups of people, without any possibility of gaining profit.
We shall learn from and express respect to those pioneers and simultaneously, we have to face an unfortunate fact, that is, China has gone through 30 years of keen experience, which surprised the world. However, 30 years has passed, and when we look back and make a conclusion, we can hardly find one documentary that can survive the history. Although we have grown for 30 years, we are now still confused and dazed just as the toddler in the swaddling clothes.
Documentaries are photo albums of a country. If a country does not have a photo album, who will be suffering from the loss in the end?
What is the meaning of a collective lack of memory in a country with population of 1.3 billion?

The history is a canvas full of human drama, full of repetition, hence, similar image in current world are always reflected by the documentaries. The documentary is to tell you those shocking and meaningful story, which will also change and affect others, making them behave differently.

Those forgetting the history will be punished and condemned for the recurring history.
There are two kinds of forerunners, namely martyrs and pioneers.

The progress in film technology and the approaching of cyber time means a predictable future for documentaries. We shall remain focused in our mind and resources and seize the only opportunity, with opening attitude and working jointly, to pave a road and keep pace with counterparts, to realize our worth and to push forward the industry.

Workers on documentary are destined to give more endeavor than fiction film makers so as to upgrade the meaning of documentary.


Feature film and documentary

Feature film is still a show.

Realistic documentary makes audience quiet while watching, as if events on the screen were all real and the author had never participated in it.
There is no great difference between figure-driven documentaries and feature films. The documentary widely accepted by people is actually an experimental base of human-driven films.
The character-driven documentary based on observation is eye-catching since this kind of film generally focuses on the behavior of someone willing to fulfill one goal. Documentaries reveal the principle of interaction in life and show the elements contained in excellent theatrical writing to people.


Treating life and death

All religions consider treating life and death as major issue of the world.
The so-called life and death, is what we will be confronted with, even if we are reluctant and without our allowance. We come to the world without our consent and will leave the world the same way.
All we can decide is whether to act positively or passively when we are still alive.
To constantly strive for perfection out of interest is an active action, but working arduously out of survival is a passive action. Activeness is the precondition of success.
Interest can never be developed once and for all, and it shall be self-cultivated.
As for most people, work occupies the most important period of time. To love the work, to cultivate interest in work is the shortcut to realize the meaning and value of life.

时代告白

这个世界会好吗

认真、用心认真

世界上为什么怕就怕“认真”二字?

一是认真的成本比较高,“认真”往往意味着更多的精力消耗、更长的时间要求、短期内更少的利润空间,所以愿意认真的往往很少;
二是只要认真,惯常的困难往往会逐步化解,认真的人因此脱颖而出,促动那些以困难为由,理直气壮止步不前的人。

时代纪录为什么必须坚持“认真”二字?

我们用了15年的时间等待、筹划这条路,在这段时间里,我们不断学习着对“认真”二字的要求,认真做人、认真做事、认真对待专业,为此,我们付出了大量的成本。但也正是这样的蛰伏,使我们获得了这个行业里难得的机会,这也是对坚持“认真”最好的肯定。

我们走的是一条人迹罕至的窄路,如同通往珠峰的山道,艰难和孤独是贯穿始终的常态,更要忍受遭遇遇难者遗体的恐惧和悲情。如果没有认真充分的应对,没有每一步认真的坚持,下一个遇难的可能就会是我们。

我们的时间十分紧迫,现在是丰满充实的最佳时机,很快会有强大的行业追兵聚集,这稍纵即逝的机会容不得半点差池。
所以请原谅时代的偏执,因为这机会对个人而言可能仅仅是一次在身边偶现的幸运,而对时代而言是十五年的等待。
所以,时代只能对那些喜欢舒缓节奏的同事说声“对不起”, 时代只能对那些总是粗心马虎的同事说声“对不起”,时代只能对那些屡屡在同一个地点跌倒的同事说声“对不起”,时代只能对那些缺乏自我学习自我约束的同事说声“对不起”,时代可以理解专业化要经历学习的过程,但无法向不认真、不用心的同事妥协。

“在一生中做每一件事都像是做最后一件事,避免一切粗心大意,避免一切违反理性的感情冲动,避免一切虚伪、自私,以及对自己命运的抱怨。”(摘自《沉思录》)。这是时代认同的价值观。


记录何为、纪录何为?

什么是纪录片?

我们尊重所有师长、行业同仁对纪录片定义的争执,这些有营养的讨论都让我们获益匪浅。 同时,这也让我们认识到,我们无法定义纪录片。
时代纪录从一成立就给自己设定一个狭窄的道路前行——“做有传播价值的企业纪录片”。
时代专注纪录片,并将一切与之无关的业务做减法。同时,在广泛的纪录影像领域里我们专注的方向是企业纪录片。所以我们只能用下面这样的一句话描述我们从事的纪录片是什么:
非虚构的。用真实、直接的电影手法制作的, 推动社会进步的企业影片。
未来的日子里,我们将拥有什么,许多还只是预测,然而我们将失去什么,已是不争的事实。决定社会经济发展的不是自然人而是法人,我们相信作为社会经济的最小细胞——企业,拥有着改变世界的力量。

同时,关注纪录片的人,往往有着善良和责任心的共同价值观。我们期望可以利用这个平台,传递一些鼓舞人心的力量,分享一些改善生活的知识,传播先导企业的产品价值、品牌价值、文化价值,共同趋向一个更人性化、更有希望的未来社会。

人们常说,纪录片的第一作用是“史料价值”。因为纪录片往往比故事影片能够更有力地表达出事件和时间的关系来。吴晓波,“我所有的工作,都在和遗忘对抗。”说的也是这个意思。我们关注纪录片的史料价值,同时我们更关注这些影片对当下的影响,对未来的启迪。我们相信,一个没有历史感的民族,再富有,也难以持续。


记忆短暂而遗忘久长

人的生命只是目前的这一段时间,其余的不是已经过去便是永不再来。
良田万亩一日三餐,广厦千间夜宿一床,那些今日耀眼的光环,将很快消失不见,无数叱咤风云的枭雄最后都只能湮没在历史的尘埃。
我是谁?从哪里来?到哪里去?

人物纪录片,为了一些不应忘却的纪念。
我们不会为了身后美名而记录某个人物,我们只坚持用平等、客观、立体的视角展现和观察影片中的人物。努力用最接近真相的影像,让那些值得传递的能量可以发出尽可能持久的光芒。虽然从历史长河的角度来看,再持久的光芒也注定只是一瞬,但至少这光芒为当下和后来者照亮了一段道路。

我们相信这个行业的每一部影片都是一滴水,只要这些水滴持续不断地涌现,终有一天会有穿石的力量。

历史擅于遗忘,使得当下的人们有人因此悲观、厌世、颓废、彷徨,有人却因此乐观、勇敢、珍惜、积极。
我们选择后者。

 


第一是市场、第二是市场、第三还是市场

市场决定创作。

我们始终以市场为导向关注纪录片的叙述的方式。我们相信并尊重艺术创作的价值,但是,我们更相信首先要让观众不离开座位,你才有机会传递信息。
无论哪种影片制作都是市场化的商品,观众决定了他们的兴衰,对此表示抱怨是徒劳无功的。为此,我们需要持续关注、学习、运用符合市场要求的商业手段,并将之融入我们的纪录片。

我们需要坚持遵守的纪录片市场的规则:

1. 是纪录片,不是记录片。
2.观点。
3.角色。
4.主线。
5.用镜头说话,丰富电影内涵,尽可能减少解说、采访、说明字幕。
6.公众对“信息娱乐化”有着永不满足的兴趣。为了让那些经常面对大量呆板纪录片就走开的观众产生兴趣,我们就必须想办法使之有趣、朴实、并且令人痛苦,就如同生活本身一样。

 

我们坚持好的影片符合四个“让”:

1. 让人哭。
2.让人笑。
3.让人紧张。
4.让人出乎意料。

 


纪录片

我们能够有这样直接、持续的跟踪方式做影片,首先要感谢技术的进步使摄像机能够追踪生活,而不是为了摄像机的需要而排演生活。这样也就允许我们像事情所显露出来的那样去记录事件和作者的意识。

我们相信,纪录片的内容、形式和专业知识正发生着革命性的变化。纪录片从诞生的那天起,关于他如何呈现真实的争论就没有停止。当你承认剪接的作用时,声称忠于事实就变得难以置信。
一部纪录影片内的真实最终应该存在于它组织的想象力中,而不是机械地忠实于生活。同时,我们也要留意艾略特《大教堂的谋杀》中的那句经典对白,“人类不能容忍过多的真实。”
但毋庸置疑的是,纪录片是非虚构影片,是对真实的创造性处理,是真实和直接的电影。基于艺术创作需要和商业考虑,虚构的角色和脚本并不会被自动地摒除在纪录片领域之外。实际上,我们可以看到许多纪录片也同样使用角色搬演和情景再现。

纪录片人在充满矛盾的世界中担负着维护正义的责任。
好的纪录片往往可以揭示更深入的事实和情感,并且更多地用情感打动人而不是用事实打动。它超越了事实的说明和歌功颂德,深入到生活中更复杂、模糊和道德上有沉重负担的领域。 同时,好的纪录片也是一个组织好的故事,如同与之相对应的故事片一样,讲述一个好故事,需要有趣的人物、充满张力的叙述和一个完整的观点。传统戏剧的序幕、高潮和结尾三段式结构在纪录片中都需要十分完整。

通过提高自己和其他人的意识,每个纪录片人都在试着做一些令人尊敬和有价值的事,并且智慧的生活。

遗憾的是,目前国内的纪录片市场机制尚不成熟,行业整体还处于国际相对低端水平,市场认可度不高,受众群体缺乏培养,著作权意识匮乏。纪录片人筹资、制作、发行都十分困难,这个领域到目前为止都还没有清晰的盈利模式,很多纪录片都只能是依靠个人理想的坚持,自费制作然后小众分享,难以盈利。
我们需要向所有的先行者们学习并致敬,同时,我们也不得不看到一个遗憾的事实,中国经历了沸腾的30年,这是让世界为之侧目的30年,然而,30年过去了,当我们回首总结的时候,竟然难以找到一部纪录影片可以跨越这段历史长河走到人们面前,虽然经过了30年的成长,但在这一刻,我们却依然如襁褓中的幼童一样迷茫。

纪录片是一个国家的相册。如果这个国家没有相册,最后损失的是谁呢?
一个14亿人口国家集体记忆的缺失又意味着什么呢?

历史是画满人类戏剧的画布,充满重复,于是纪录片也总是展现着当今世界的相似映像。纪录片是讲述那些对你有震撼,有意义的故事,这些故事也会改变和影响其他人,使他们表现有所不同。

纪录片的工作者,注定需要比虚构影片的制作者付出更多的努力,去提升纪录电影的意义。


故事片与纪录片

故事片终究是一场演出

现实主义的纪录片会让观众在观看的过程中安静下来,仿佛屏幕上出现的事件都是真实的,作者并没有任何的参与在其中。

人物驱动的纪录片与故事片之间并没有太大的差异,广为人们接受的纪录片实际上就是人物驱动影片的试验基地。

观察式人物纪录片的引人瞩目之处在于,这类影片通常会关注想要完成某事的人物的行为,纪录片把这些在生活中相互作用的原则揭示出来,向人们展示在优秀的戏剧化写作中所具备的元素。


了生死

一切宗教皆以“了生死”为大事。
所谓生死,不了断亦自行了断,我们无权主宰。我们来到这个世界未经我们的同意,我们离开这个世界也将不经我们同意。我们无能为力。
我们能够决定的,是在我们活着的时候,究竟是主动的还是被动地有所作为。
因兴趣之所在而精益求精是主动,因生计之所求而艰苦劳作是被动。

主动是成功的前提条件。兴趣从不是一蹴而就,是需要自我培养的。

工作,占据了大部分人一生中最黄金的时间。

爱上你的工作,培养对工作的兴趣,是让人生有意义和价值的捷径。